Question [QUESTION(S)] Wiring Noob Looking for some answers.

Rokanza

Terrarian
Hey everyone. First post here on the forums so I apologize if I mess anything up, or explain things poorly.

I started playing again 2 weeks ago, and finally reached end game with a few friends. I started messing with wires just to see what I could come up with. Though they were extremely simple, I took a liking to this part of the game. I started researching logic gates and messing with stuff, and my friends were intrigued by what I was coming up with, and then challenging me to do more.

Which brings me to my current issue. The door to our house.

As I started wiring, I just put a pressure plate on each side and connected them to each other through the door. No problems right?
However, every so often there would be a moment where 2 of us are approaching either side of the door simultaneously. So when we get to it, one of us opens the door, the other closes it, and we both hit the wall. On a few occasions we both ran backwards to open the door for each other, which only caused it to open and close AGAIN! :(

I've spent probably close to 4 hours trying to figure out how to make the door work so when one person approaches it from either side, it will remain open until the last person is through it, followed by it closing behind us. We also have a wall of stone with actuators that turn off and on by the pressure plates if anyone wants to go above and beyond.

Sorry for the long rant. I just see these beautifully wired masterpieces, and I'm here struggling to make a door respond appropriately. If someone has a solution for me possibly with a step by step guide, I'd be more than grateful. I understand all the logic gates, and I feel like this project needs them, but once I try using more than 1 gate at a time my brain goes into sleep mode.