1.3.0.3 Character and World Corrupted

Think I'm having this one, too.
Can I ask how the backup files work? It seems to me (I am NOT a programmer.) That this is caused by crash while saving; does the game try to write it's save files all at the same time? If so, and I guess this would change too much of the core prgramming, could it be changed to write and complete the player file, then world, one backup and finally the other?
Sorry for the long post. I can't remember how many player and world files I've lost... Though, when one gets corrupted the .bak is never there...
Are any of you modifying these files with third party software during/after/before using Terraria?

Are any of you modifying these files with third party software during/after/before using Terraria?

No, no mods or third party software. Which is why I asked about the file creation; not sure what else could destroy the main files and backups at the same time, except a virus but my virus scanner comes up with nothing. (Daily scans as default.)

This just happened to my world that I have spent countless hours working on.
The .bak file is corrupt as well.
Thankfully, I used TEdit to view the map on August 11th, which saved a .tmp file. I'm working on converting that into a .wld
This needs to be fixed, it only happens when the game exits while saving. If the game wrote to individual files instead of every file at the same time, this would not happen.

This just happened to my world that I have spent countless hours working on.
The .bak file is corrupt as well.
Thankfully, I used TEdit to view the map on August 11th, which saved a .tmp file. I'm working on converting that into a .wld
This needs to be fixed, it only happens when the game exits while saving. If the game wrote to individual files instead of every file at the same time, this would not happen.

Please let us know if this works for you.
just by the way; did you character get wiped as well?

Fortunately, my character did not get wiped.