Mac Installed tModLoader and mods. Now can't see old 'Players'.

Ewill Marshie

Terrarian
Hi wonderful computer-gaming type folks,

Firstly I'm on a Mac.

Was hoping to install some mods for my son to play, I followed all the instructions I found online and downloaded the tModLoader and a couple of mods, I've got Terraria running through the tModLoader and it recognises the Mods I have placed in the appropriate folders, but when I go to play all our old characters have gone. Did installing the tModLoader somehow override all our old characters? or if not, how do I re-access them? I know my son (and somewhat myself) will be devastated if he's lost all the progress we've made over the years. (Got some sweet worlds we've built and awesome post-moon lord gear that we spent ages working on from scratch.)

I really didn't do my research very well when installing this one. Can't seem to find another thread that i can follow to rectify my issue.

I'm a bit not very tech savvy, so go slow with this old man. I did read that one can "uninstall" the tModLoader, to get back "vanilla Terraria" and that perhaps we'd find our old characters in there, but i wouldn't have the first clue in how to do that. Is this the case? is there anyone who could help me with this? I'd be ever so grateful.

Facepalm.
Here's the deal: tModLoader uses different Character and World files than Vanilla Terraria, meaning that you have to manually move your Vanilla characters to the modded folder off you want to use them.

Hi wonderful computer-gaming type folks,

Firstly I'm on a Mac.