tModLoader [Tutorial] Projectile Guide and Implementation: tModLoader Edition

Edit: So what you need to do first is:

projectile.cloneDefaults(496) //496 is the ai for the hex doll
aiType = 496;

That will give you a straight line.
From there, add random velocity changes in the AI() block.

Also, I believe there are easy ways to change the color of the projectile (Technically dust), but I'm not good with the animation and sprite drawing stuff.

Another edit: When you change the velocity, make sure you do it briefly and in small numbers, otherwise will go flying out of control.

I would also recommend using some math to base the velocity changes on the initial velocity.

Last edited:
1. How do I make a 'tornado' projectile? (Like Duke Fishron's sharknado, how it 'grows' in size, etc.)

2. How do I make a 'vilethorn'-like projectile?

3. How to make 'projectile1' shoot 'projectile2' outwards in an even arc every now and then (Like the Lunatic Cultist's Ice Attack)?

Last edited:
1. How do I make a 'tornado' projectile? (Like Duke Fishron's sharknado, how it 'grows' in size, etc.)

2. How do I make a 'vilethorn'-like projectile?

3. How to make 'projectile1' shoot 'projectile2' outwards in an even arc every now and then (Like the Lunatic Cultist's Ice Attack)?

1. I haven't used this myself, but I have seen it closely in the Calamity mod.
I think you need to A. Move the projectile left and right periodically.
B. Have the main projectile spawn new ones after a few frames each at an increasing interval of hieght
C. Increase the projectile.scale each time
This is one you would have to play around with to get it to look right.

2. Vilethorn-like projectiles (as well as the rainbow gun) actually use two projectiles: the front and the trail.
Basically, have the gun shoot the front projectile, and have it spawn stationary projectiles as it travels. (Make sure you adjust the rotation to match the front)