tModLoader BotanyPlus - Alchemy plant enhancement mod

NeonSea

Terrarian
icon.png

BotanyPlus is a mod that adds a few things to make farming plants for alchemy a bit easier, particularly with smaller-profile farms. I'm brand new to modding and this release is a basic draft of what I'd like the mod to be able to do eventually, so I'm open to any suggestions for changes or improvements that can be made in the future.

What the mod currently offers:

Items

GaiaStaff.png
Gaia Staff - An upgraded Staff of Regrowth that greatly increases drop rate of plants on harvest and instantly grows trees from planted saplings

GrowthLantern.gif
SpiritLantern.gif
Growth and Spirit Lanterns - Increase the growth rate of plants within range. The Spirit variant has a stronger effect and also forces all nearby plants to always bloom when fully grown

TransmutationTable.gif
Transmutation Table - An upgraded Alchemy Table that gives a 66% chance to conserve potion ingredients, and also acts as a water source

Changes to vanilla behavior

• The Staff of Regrowth (and its upgrade) can be auto-selected when hovering over plants, will target plants while Smart Cursor is enabled, and can automatically replant seeds in planter boxes and clay pots

Recolored sprites are placeholders for now, although I am not really very good at spriting and this is a small mod so they are a low priority.

The current version can be found on the mod browser.
Source code

v0.1.2 changes:
Added seed replanting ability to vanilla Staff of Regrowth
Made Gaia Staff match the Staff of Regrowth's speed when breaking plants
Adjusted growth rate of Spirit Lantern
Slight adjustments to recipes

Last edited:
This is a really fantastic set of ideas! I absolutely love the concepts. I can't even think of anything better after what I just read. Well done!

This is a really fantastic set of ideas! I absolutely love the concepts. I can't even think of anything better after what I just read. Well done!