Pixel Art Beginner Spriting Guide

Balduran

Terrarian
Note - This guide is presented as is and will not be maintained/updated.

Preface

Having recently seen some people try out pixel art here on the forums, I wanted to give them some links to a few tutorials. Alas, much to my surprise, I've discovered that... In essence, there are none.

Oh, of course, there are lots and lots of helpful guides out in the internet, but from what I've seen, they were either much too basic, only dealt with a very specific subject (MCF, for reasons beyond me, ended up having only terrain tutorials), or were much too advanced for a complete newbie and pertained to general pixel art.
As for Terraria specific guides, I only found 3 on Terraria Online, and while they do offer some good insight, I don't feel they're exhaustive enough.

This guide will be fairly long and picture heavy, so be warned.

Table of Contents

• Tools of the Trade:
    • Graphics software comparison
  • Getting Started:
    • A few things you should know beforehand
  • Terraria Specific Issues
    • Size
    • Style (Contrast, Outlines, Orientation)
    • Armor in Terraria
    • Tile Grid
  • Guide Proper
    • Defining the Shape
    • Shading
    • Additional Advice
    • Animation Basics
    • Addendum: Guns
    • Addendum: Spheres
  • Common Beginner Mistakes
  • Links

Tools of the Trade

First, I strongly advise against using MS Paint. Why settle for a sub-par tool, when something better can do the job more easily?
In general, any image editing software can probably pull it off, but you should get either Paint.Net or Gimp, both of which are free. There are tons of other programs, but I've never tried them, and either of the aforementioned are enough, for completion's sake however, I'm including a link to a list at the end.
In general, I am going to refer specifically to GIMP in this guide, as it's my software of choice.