Terraria State of the Game - August 2020

Status
Not open for further replies.
You make it sound like they have at least partially rewritten the game engine itself. I find that hard to believe, considering how quickly they got the mobile version up and running. It took Engine around a year at least (it's not clear when they started working) to write a new engine for the initial release on PS3/360. That later was used for the mobile port. I don't think they were lazy.

But I'm not a game developer or even a windows programmer. While I have tinkered a little bit with .NET, I have mainly dealt with hardware/software on embedded systems (usually with very little RAM so they can't even afford having a traditional os).
AFAIK there is no console code in the mobile port - it was written from the ground up by DR studios. I think the timeframe just comes down to some very talented and driven individuals, and due to the smaller team, a lack of the beaucracy that comes with a larger studio like pipeworks. It makes sense really - look at ReLogic afterall. They're a pretty small team too. Sometimes that sort of structure is better for just getting things done.

Is there a ways to sign up for beta testing?
Beta testing applications aren't open at the moment I'm afraid.

i just can't help but be concerned with what DRS will be doing to console terraria.

are they gonna end up undoing pipeworks' efforts?

checking twitter, i saw some people asking them to put mobile controls in console or whatever... who the hell would want such a thing?

that sounds like it'd ruin the game, honestly.

also, with them being from the UK, i can't help but wonder if our imperial measurements are gonna be removed and replaced with the nonsensical metric measurements.

that would just ruin my enjoyment of the game.

if they end up recoding the game again, is that gonna remove the console-exclusive vanities?