Terraria Community Forums

Graydee
Graydee
People are trying to be the next thorium when they should be focusing on one individual area.
Eli10293
Eli10293
Most "general expansion" mods can't even do it right
Xylia
Xylia
Everybody has their ideas, and some people have enough ideas to make a "general expansion mod". I don't see anything wrong with that. If you got ideas, stick em in a mod! If you have enough of them, well... you get stuff like Thorium. I like there being a variety so you can choose one or more.
Xylia
Xylia
Didn't really care for Tremor hailing Satan for example in one of the tooltips, nor do I like the controversy surrounding them, so I started playing Thorium there for awhile. Then, I tried Calamity... and I hear there's a few more that are getting good too. It's nice to have variety, keeps me playing Terraria.
Graydee
Graydee
There are obviously success stories (such as thorium, spirit, calamity, etc), but the market of "general expansions" is so oversaturated its more refreshing to do focused content.
Xylia
Xylia
To each their own, I say. That's the amazing thing about having a good modding scene. Pick-n-mix your content to your pleasure. Your Terraria is different than mine, etc. But we should all have fun either way.
Vaikyia
Vaikyia
Mate, Graydee, you're treating this like some kinda area of business when in reality it's just a group of young adults wanting to make a good mod for people to enjoy. Literally bottom-of-the-barrel modding since tModLoader has made it so easy to learn.

General expansion mods have been around since tConfig, and they're talked about everyday by almost everyone in the community. People are going to get inspired.
Vaikyia
Vaikyia
You practically signed up for being around a ton of them when you got into the modding community. It's better to spend your time actually helping some of those rising mods than to make them feel like they aren't wanted.
Graydee
Graydee