tModLoader Boss Music Mod Help

Zellogi

Steampunker
Ok so I'm new to the coding behind Terraria. I can read/write basic C#, but I don't know where to start with this. What I want to do is create a mod that allows me to set a unique soundtrack for each vanilla boss in the game. This way I can find music that fits the theme of the boss, without it affecting other bosses' themes. I know Tremor Mod did this with King Slime, but since they don't allow you to use tModReader on it, I don't know how they went about doing it. Any help would be appreciated!

On a side note, is it possible to play a song during the waiting period before Moon Lord spawns, as like a buildup to the actual boss theme? Or is it possible to play different songs during each wave of the Old One's Army?

I know it's been exactly one year since your second bump, but I think I might have an answer for the main question. For the others, you may be able to find the variables that Terraria uses to keep track of those things and adapt this idea accordingly.

What you'll need to do is put this in the mod class of your mod file:
Code:
public override void UpdateMusic(ref int music,ref MusicPriority priority)
{
}

In the curly brackets, you'll probably want to use one of those "switch case" things that you can do in C# to cycle through the NPC IDs looking for specific numbers relating to the ID of the boss. I don't know how to use those though, so I'll only be using if statements. You'll want to check for if a certain boss is present. Using Plantera as an example, something like this should work:
Code:
if(NPC.AnyNPCs(NPCID.Plantera))
{
}

Note that "Plantera" is this instance is the name of Plantera in the code, but Eye of Cthulhu is "EyeofCthulhu" in the code. You can also substitute "NPCID.Plantera" with Plantera's actual ID. You can find a list of NPC IDs here:
https://terraria.wiki.gg/NPC_IDs

As well as a list of those IDs next to their names in Terraria's code: