How to change bullet colour?

pop12601

Terrarian
Hey everyone! So I'm new to modding terraria, and I'd like to be able to create a new upgraded version of the paintball gun. Well, so far I got everything working fine. But the only issue is when I shoot it in game, the colour of the paintballs shot are only a dark red, and I would like it to have a small variety, just like the paintball gun.
Any help would be appreciated, thanks in advance!

Hey everyone! So I'm new to modding terraria, and I'd like to be able to create a new upgraded version of the paintball gun. Well, so far I got everything working fine. But the only issue is when I shoot it in game, the colour of the paintballs shot are only a dark red, and I would like it to have a small variety, just like the paintball gun.
Are you using a custom sprite? If so, could you show us? If not (and you're using the vanilla paintball projectile), have you tried taking a look at how they're handled in vanilla code?

Nope, I'm sticking with the normal paintball sprite. I just took a look at the vanilla code, and it doesn't seem to have anything to change the colour of it.

Nope, I'm sticking with the normal paintball sprite. I just took a look at the vanilla code, and it doesn't seem to have anything to change the colour of it.
Let me get this straight: You're using the same sprite as the normal paintball bullet, but different code?

Let me get this straight: You're using the same sprite as the normal paintball bullet, but different code?
Yes, I'm using pretty much the same code as the example gun in the examplemod, but I changed the this.shoot line to match with the paintball projectile.

Yes, I'm using pretty much the same code as the example gun in the examplemod, but I changed the this.shoot line to match with the paintball projectile.
Allright, so you're overriding the shoot function I take it? If not, you want to do that.