Game Mechanics Ideas from a PC Terraria ‘Veteran’ - for console

Glare

Terrarian
It’s been a long, long time since I last visited this forum.
I visit now to add some suggestions to make the console build better.

I’ve been playing Terraria since not too long after it came out. I learned of its existence when I saw a specific Good Game Spawn Point episode where DARREN gave his ‘5 Top Tips for Terraria’ - an episode that aired all the way back in 2011, if memory serves.
This was way way back. As far back as the time when different walls didn’t merge together. A time when there was only one type of ‘wood’. A time when wooden platforms were your only option for climbing out.

So I think I deserve the title of ‘veteran’. But don’t let that hold any merit. I’m really saying that I’m a PC veteran because I’ve played Terraria the whole time I’ve had it, on PC, for a long time.

A few hours ago I purchased Terraria on PS4. My PC is busted and I need to get a new one soon, but until then I can’t play Terraria on a computer.
I ultimately decided to purchase it on console because I couldn’t stand to be separated from this masterpiece any longer.

Off of my history and such, I’ll finally get to my ideas to make console better:
  • Hotbar Radial (for PS4 and Xbox) - I’ve played on my PC with a PS4 controller, and I have to say, it actually has a lot more versatility there than console does. For one, console doesn’t have the radial hotbar that PC does, brought up when holding one of the buttons to navigate the hotbar. This should be added to console to make it more worthwhile.