Magic early hard mode

Boomuncher is gone

Official Terrarian
so me and my friend are doing another play through and I am being a mage (He's being Melee for the third time).
And I was wondering what I should get early hardmode. There are so many choices and this is my first time being a mage so I need help

so me and my friend are doing another play through and I am being a mage (He's being Melee for the third time).
And I was wondering what I should get early hardmode. There are so many choices and this is my first time being a mage so I need help
What you should get is the poison staff dropped from recluses. And if you can try to get the orange zapinator from the traveling merchant umm what else uhhh, I think there are some good weapons that the shadow chests give, and that’s about it, unless there is some jungle weapon I don’t know of

Craft the meteor staff, probably the easiest early hardmode magic weapon to get, really good against the destroyer too. If you're in a crimson world then crafting the Golden shower is a must, very useful troughout the entirety of hardmode. Try also getting either the Crystal serpent (fishing in the hallow) or Sky Fracture (Light Shard + Souls of Light + Magic Missile) and you'll be pretty much set.

Good weapons: Sky fracture, crystal serpent(very strong but rare), meoteor staff(good against destroyer),Nimbus rod(usefull weapon)

Golden shower and Life drain are available in Corruption worlds too. If you put the dryad in a graveyard in a corruption world she sells crimson seeds.

Flamelash and Demon Scythe can be carried over into Hardmode and will keep you alive for a while, although not too efficiently. Depending on the world I'm in, first thing I do is go straight for Golden Shower or Magic Daggers. They can pierce multiple enemies and fire at such a fast rate they can actually slow down enemies as if they have knockback, but they don't. The magic gun from the WoF isn't too bad either depending on what you are fighting.