Meet The Team: Pipeworks Lead Engineer Eric Hope

ClearConscious

Terrarian
Pipeworks Studio
BehindTheScenesPhoto1.jpg

Meet the Team is a regular feature in which we interview members of the Pipeworks team working on
Terraria to give you a brief introduction to the people working behind the scenes to maintain and improve your favorite game. Today, our subject is Eric Hope, Lead Engineer on the console versions of Terraria.

Can you give us your name and title?

I'm Eric Hope, Software Engineer at Pipeworks Studio

Where are you from, and how long have you been working in games?

I've lived most of my life in Eugene and Springfield, Oregon, and I've been developing games professionally since 2001 -- but my interest in making games started way back in 1985. I had a Mac 128, and the paint program sparked my imagination. I drew characters and copied successive frames into the clipboard, where I could view them, then held down the right button on the scroll bar to animate them. I drew mazes in it, zoomed in as close as I could, and imagined I had an avatar walking around in forests. I had a music program, MusicWorks, that I taught myself how to compose music on. I got myself a copy of Turbo Pascal around 1990, and started figuring out how to pull these things together. Hypercard came out shortly after that, making it a breeze to put together games like the old ICOM games like Deja Vu and Shadowgate. Then, I learned C++, and using DirectX and OpenGL, started making platformer games. I went to college, got a Computer Science degree, and then, started doing it as a career.

What have you worked on in the past that people might know?