NPCs & Enemies NPC Happiness System needs reworked.

Terminus.

Terrarian
I just started playing this game today and I just found out how convoluted the NPC Happiness system is.. I was looking forward to making a big fortress and having all the NPCs together like a big community where they can all walk around and interact with each other etc. Now I'm learning NPC's need to be in this biome or that biome and like or dislike eachother , and only 2 NPC's per location and at this tile distance etc .

If you want a big castle with all the NPC's together that should be completely fine they should be happy and the player should not be penalized at all. If you want NPC's around the map in different biomes/houses thats fine too . Neither should be penalized . Pylons need rethinking.

NPC's should not like or dislike each other. and sell/buy for less because of it.
NPC's should not have biome preferences and sell/buy for less because of it.
maybe Pylons could be rewards for boss kills in the particular biomes? I don't know this answer or solution but it should be discussed and reworked .

Last edited:
At first, I was not happy with the change, pretty much for similar reasons. Now that I have gotten used to it, I actually find it better in a way.

I have always built a giant npc prison: big ol' box with everyone trapped in their respective "houses". This works, but keeps you in one place - every time I wanted to go somewhere else it meant a trek across the map. I could have set up teleporters, but trailing the wires all over was a pain.

With the new npc system I use the whole world a lot more. When I get to a new area, I chop a few trees, and quickly build a two room house. It takes me just a few minutes, and it's ready for people to move in. I leave a space in between the rooms for the pylon, and once two fairly friendly npcs move in, I buy one and place it down.