Weapons & Equip Occult Thorn - Magic Casting for the Crimson

TheSquishyDitto

Terrarian
Currently, mages in Crimson worlds only really have the Mana Flower to look forward to in terms of mana restoration accessories, and although by no means is the Mana Flower bad, it seems unfair to the Crimson to not have some cool alternative.

To that end, I introduce a new accessory, the Occult Thorn! Alternate names: Ritual Thorn, Ritual Rose

qWq3oZw.png
(I'm not good at small sprites; subject to change)
Occult Thorn
Tooltip:
"6-10% reduced mana usage (however much is found appropriate)
Slowly regenerates life.
Uses life to cast spells in a pinch.
Blood for the blood god!"

Possible Recipe:
Nature%27s_Gift.png
Nature's Gift,
Band_of_Regeneration.png
Band of Regeneration,
Panic_Necklace.png
Panic Necklace

When a player equipped with this runs out of mana, they start directly using their life to fuel their magic weapons. While using life for spellcasting, magic damage is increased by somewhere between 10-40%, depending on what you all find as appropriate compensation for losing health. Using life for spellcasting wouldn't incur a damage event, meaning you wouldn't be invincible or continuously spew bees from your mouth with an equipped Honeycomb, but it also wouldn't affect your current health regeneration rate, so as long as you don't get hit by anything your life will continue to rapidly regenerate, therefore you'll want to focus on dodging. Additionally, depending on whether the recipe includes the Panic Necklace or not, while consuming life the Thorn would continuously apply the Panic buff to improve your dodging ability. To take some of the sting out of draining life, it provides whatever life regeneration bonus that the Band of Regeneration has or ends up with.