Tips on Purifying a World?

Igno

Golem
Sadly enough, the farthest I've ever gotten in a Terraria world was post-Golem three times. Since I'm not very experienced when it comes to the end-game (Moon Lord, purification, etc.), I thought I'd ask here for tips on the best way to purify your world. Any suggestions?

Purification is, in my eyes, strictly a matter of containment.

You're usually going to want to tackle most of it BEFORE hardmode starts, but you can still do it after (besides, you tend to have much better pickaxes at that time)
To contain the corruption/crimson/hallow, you just have to make sure there aren't any corruptible materials within 3 blocks of one (crimstone, hallowed grass, corruption's thorns, etc) and to do this, I usually build large vertical shafts all the way to the underworld to box them in. It doesn't HAVE to be to the underworld - but for protecting, say, the Jungle, I usually go all the way.

Use an uncorruptible material, such as Gray Brick or Stone Slabs, as the walls. Make the top a little higher, too, so that thorns can't spread over the barrier.

As for actively purifying? Use the Clentaminator. Burrowing into the afflicted areas and spraying a large area around you is a great way of clearing it up - just make sure you don't miss any single blocks.

Thanks so much! :D I've heard though that whenever you smash a demon/crimson altar in your world, it changes a single block in your world into crimson/corruption or hallow. Is this true?

Here's a tip, check out the Terraria Wiki, it has alot of guides to what to do and should help with crafting needs as well.

If you have alot of time to spare, dig a lot of wide tunnels all around your world before entering Hardmode.
You can also make a new world just to enter Hardmode and get better pickaxes to mine your pre-hardmode world faster

If you want to purify the entire world, and not just a select area:

Be ready to farm oceans of money to buy oceans of Clentaminator solution.