Pixel Art [TUTORIAL] Coloring and Shading

Luke Oliveem

Terrarian
Coloring and Shading
A tutorial that might be useful to the frustrated pixel artist

index.php

Ah, pixel art. How relaxing it is to draw the outlines, pick the colors, shade the sprite, and see that your sprite... looks horrible. No problem though, you just did some bad coloring; you can pick the colors again. And again. And... uh, again.

Yeah, sometimes you can't just get a sprite to look right. Everyone has already struggled with the shading of a sprite, and when you can't simply get that one color or effect that you want, things just get so frustrating. And not just pixel art, anyone can struggle with colors when the art is digital.

Worry not, for the struggle shall end this day.

(Please be noted that this tutorial is intended to help those who already know at least a little bit of spriting. If you're a complete beginner, I'd recommend you to see
this tutorial instead. And keep in mind that while this is focused at pixel art, the techniques that will be shown below can work with other art styles too)

divider.png

Effin colors, How do they even work?
Okay, so colors are made out of three things:
  • lightness (light vs. dark, or white vs. black),
  • saturation (intense vs. dull), and
  • hue (e.g., red, orange, yellow, green, blue or purple).
dqXtwkZ.png
T6gJO2t.png
R2tE7g6.png

To make something look good, real good, you'll need to learn how to use all of these

For an example, I shall show you a sprite where I made use of all three of these aspects, and one where I only used lightness:

8ZRyIjm.png

(To the left, the one where I changed all three aspects, To the right, the one that had only the lightness changed)
The one that had only the lightning changed doesn't look bad at all, but the one that was more carefully shaded looks arguably better; And in some situations changing only the lightness aspect might leave you with some really ugly shading (I'm looking at you, yellow shades)