What Keeps You Playing?

EnragedCow

Terrarian
Hi everyone! I'm brand new to Terraria, as well as the forums here, and am really looking forward to learning more about the game! I've never really played a crafting/building game like this, so it'll be interesting to see how creative I can get.

One thing I'm curious about: Re-Logic announced that Terraria has passed 20 million copies sold, which is bonkers! What has kept everyone playing for so long? Why do you think Terraria, a game released in 2011, continues to hang out in the Steam Charts top 20? Is it the community? The ability to be creative with builds?

I love seeing the community post builds they're proud of. I'm hoping to share my own soon enough! If you've got any tips for a beginner like me, please let me know! Also, feel free to add me on Steam: EnragedCow.

Hey EnragedCow and welcome to the forums, and if I had to give an answer to what keeps this game popular I'd say it's the variety of playstyles to choose from and how creative you can get. If you want tips then I'll need to know what part of the game you're in.

It provides an endless loop of drip-fed pleasure. You can experience the feeling of that item you've been grinding for an infinite number of times.

Hi everyone! I'm brand new to Terraria, as well as the forums here, and am really looking forward to learning more about the game! I've never really played a crafting/building game like this, so it'll be interesting to see how creative I can get.

One thing I'm curious about: Re-Logic announced that Terraria has passed 20 million copies sold, which is bonkers! What has kept everyone playing for so long? Why do you think Terraria, a game released in 2011, continues to hang out in the Steam Charts top 20? Is it the community? The ability to be creative with builds?