What or Who introduced you to Terraria? and what's your favorite thing about Terraria?

Rafelandroid2

Skeletron Prime
I was introduced to Terraria by my brother who was introduced to Terraria by his friend. we had so much fun playing for the first time (also the old mobile dim light in dark areas pls bring that feature back)
my favorite thing about the game is beating the bosses and progressing in general

I started playing terraria because I saw a youtuber playing it and it seemed cool. I play since 2017. My favorite thing about the game is exploring the underground.

I think it was a Let's Play, YouTuber by the name of PaperBat VG.

Honestly, I'm still not sure exactly why I chose Terraria over Minecraft (two of the games he often played), because I still remember the Aether Mod being the reason I was gonna finally buy/ download Minecraft, as... it was cool and everything, but not necessarily the type of game I'd personally enjoy playing myself, until I saw that particular Mod of course. 🤔🥤

I wanna say that, maybe it was because Terraria was a familiar formula to the style of games I already enjoyed (Kirby: Superstars, Super Ghosts 'n Goblins, Super Mario World, Castlevania)?? I hate that this memory draws a blank for me, because I'm sure I still didn't like Terraria's art style around that time, as the sun still had a smiley face... I think?

There was also like... this Starbound vs. Terraria beef that my brother was heavily into, so it could've easily been him as well who introduced me (or made me aware if Terraria's existence), as I'm 1000% sure he's the one who taught me how to set my controls by manipulating ini/ cmd files or whatever...

It was a lot going on, especially me getting into indie games. I don't wanna go on and on, but here's the boxes games like Terraria checked for me, seeing as how times were a LOT different back then.
  1. AAA games and their companies/ developers were really screwing their audience in many ways at the time (i.e. Capcom).