The timeline of Terraria updates and why I started playing with spreadsheets.

Mrocza

Terrarian
I took the time to aggregate the data on release dates of all the Terraria updates we've seen so far. There's been a few, to say the least, so there is a lot of numbers to go through.
To make it a bit more pleasant to the eye and easier to grasp I've neatly arranged all the updates on a timeline.
Please do take the time to scroll through that one and note any islands of increased activity and especially the gaps between them.

UAFqOTa.png

My apologies to your scroll wheel.
On your trip down the 8-year lane, you might have noticed a few gaps. Especially the one on the very end.

Analysis of the time between updates shows the wait we have to endure between content drops. And so a minor, 4th version number update like 1.3.5.3 takes an average of 5 days (±6). Medium, 3rd number update like 1.3.5 is in the oven for an average of 53 days (±66). A large update like 1.3 takes quite a while, on average 380 days (±212). That's over a year!
Why am I bringing this up? It's been 759 days since the last update. That's beyond the scope of numbers above, falls around the 3rd percentile for even a large update.

I have faith 1.3.6 is going to be great and I do feel like it is very close now but I am a bit worried as to what's been happening. So worried in fact that I stopped playing games and started playing with spreadsheets.

Numbers in pretenses show standard deviation from the average value, these are quite large due to the small sample size. Even tho there's been a lot of updates it's still very few to run statistics on.
PS I might have just written the longest post on the forums.

1.3.6 is apparently going to release this year (2019) so hopefully is releases during the summer.
So 1.3.6 is both:
A: Gonna be better/bigger than 1.3
B: The longest update EVER.
I’m giving them until August before I’m like “release dis already”