PS4 [1.4.3] Obsidian armor does not work on spinal tap

Thatlexi12345

Terrarian
On PlayStation 4 pro, latest version
I started playing the new update and was excited to try out the obsidian armor and spinal tap on my expert mode world. I was fighting against deerclops and noticed that most of my swings weren't even hitting. I was really curious as to why so I started hitting my dummy and it did damage it, only when near it. If far enough, the whip eventually did no damage even though the weapon is touching the dummy itself (video posted underneath). It seems as though the armor only causes the whip sprite to increase in size, not the actual hitbox of the whip. I tried out my endgame summoner character with the kaleidoscope to see if it was just the armor or the spinal tap, and the weapon functions normally with no obsidian armor, but with obsidian armor it has the exact same problem. This has to be a issue with the whip size increase from the obsidian armor that is not functioning as intended it seems.

(EDIT: changed wording of title, "breaks" implies that obsidian armor would destroy whips, not the case. My post explains why the armor has no effect on whips)
(EDIT 2: Kaleidiscope does work with obsidian armor, the only problem I had was that the whip did not hit from certain angles. Still functions normally. Changed thread title)

Last edited:
This is the same on Xbox, obsidian armor only increased the sprite and not actual hitbox of whips. As i did the same testing and has the same results. Was going to post this bug yesterday but didn't have an account to report it so ty for reporting it @Thatlexi12345

This is the same on Xbox, obsidian armor only increased the sprite and not actual hitbox of whips. As i did the same testing and has the same results. Was going to post this bug yesterday but didn't have an account to report it so ty for reporting it @Thatlexi12345
No problem, bit surprising it's in xbox as well but I guess they should fix it soon enough.