Steam
Single Player/Multiplayer
Single
Operating System
Windows 10
Terraria Version
Controls Used
Keyboard/Mouse
I noticed this issue pop up all the way back since 2019, which is basically the year I started playing with more attention paid to Terraria's mechanics, including herb gathering. I realized that the Staff of Regrowth's success rate was, for some reason, significantly less forgiving with Blinkroot than other plants. At the time I shrugged my shoulders and figured it was just the RNG not playing to my favor, that exact scenario kept repeating itself occasionally on all of the world I created. Every Terraria playthrough, I set myself up a farm for the herbs at my base so I can get easy access, each time I noticed the "Fewer Blinkroot" phenomena, I blamed the RNG being bad in that particular instance, moved on, and forgot about it, until earlier tonight! I, as of a few minutes ago, finally realized it wasn't mere RNG to blame as I was crafting potions at an Alchemist's Table. I ran out of Blinkroot. I ran out of blinkroot in my inventory, but when my eyes perused the other herbs, which I had spent just as much time collecting, I realized that all of the other herbs, Daybloom, Shiverthorn, Waterleaf, Deathweed, Moonglow, even Fireblossom numbered at least fifty, and this was AFTER I had used the herbs I had collected extensively to craft other potions I was running low if not completely out of. I figured that I could harvest some more Blinkroot with my trusty Staff of Regrowth and get back into business, but...

Four Blinkroot in my planter box for them were in bloom.

I only harvested four and all 6 years of me playing Terraria clicked.

That was when I realized that it wasn't RNG to blame, but that the Staff of Regrowth really IS drastically less effective on Blinkroot.

Please fix this in the coming update?

Last edited: