PC Liquid Sensors and Exponential Decay/Growth

Alaron

Terrarian
I just started playing around with the Liquid Sensors, and I'm intrigued by the possibilities now that we can use liquid physics in our designs. So far, I've got one thing, but it has potential: a machine that activates at an exponentially decreasing rate.

The output of the machine is a tower of torches that turn on and off, one at a time, slowing down as the lit torch nears the top. I lack the skills to make a gif, but here are a couple screenshots.

Capture 2016-05-23 22_35_48.png
Capture 2016-05-23 22_36_00.png

The reverse would be doable pretty easily. You just have to change the shape of the tank with the liquid sensors, so that it has a wide bottom and narrow top. That would result in a system that activates at an exponentially increasing rate, which would likely be more useful.

If you want to build one of these for yourself to test,I advise leaving out the XOR Gates and just connecting the torches directly to the Water Sensors. The only difference is that torches wouldn't turn off when the next one lights up.

This could probably automate liquid duplication to an extent for obsidian/honey farms.

It's actually pretty interesting that you mention that. I made a set of lava, honey, and water generators with their respective sensors hooked up to a 1 second timer (one for each sensor). Other than building it, dumping the base liquid to duplicate, and then withdrawing about 10 or so buckets of liquid, I really haven't seen a situation where it required player input like it did before (whether it be activating the timer, activating a pressure switch, or a lever). It's been doing it all itself. It was pretty refreshing actually, because I hated that I had to flip a switch every time something got low. This did it for me.