Load Failed! No backup found.

Inkydink

Terrarian
Hello,

I've been playing on PC for many years now, and this is my first time to run across this issue. I'm on the latest version (1.4.2.3). I created a new character and world about a week or so ago, and I've (shockingly) managed to spend over 40 hours on this new world. However, this morning I tried loading it up and it said "Load Failed!" with a "Load Backup" button, and clicking it just caused it to say "No backup found." The nest time I loaded the game, the world just wasn't showing up at all. I went to the worlds folder and noticed that instead of the typical .wld, .bak, and occasionally .bak2 files, this world had .wld, .bad, and .bak2 files. Also, Windows says the files haven't been modified since early this morning when I last saved and exited. I have no idea what I could have possibly done wrong. I do not have any mods active. I found a thread on this but it hasn't seen much activity lately and it's 2 years old so I figured I should start a new one. That thread also mentioned that new world creation was impacted, but I am not having that issue. Now I have been having a strange glitch with Steam where it will act like I need to reinstall Terraria when I click the desktop icon, but it will "finish" instantly. After this though, Terraria prompts me to pick a language, which it only does on first time setup?? I will attach the world file here (can only attach the original because the others have disallowed extensions). I'm in early Hardmode; just defeated the Pirates but haven't gotten to the mech bosses yet. Thank you so much for reading. This is my first post on the forum so if I made any mistakes let me know.

Attachments

• Waffles_2021.wld
    11.4 MB · Views: 70