How to Make A Bed?

leilakassem

Terrarian
Ok, so this question probably sounds stupid, but how do I make a bed? This is my third day playing Terraria and probably my tenth terrarian night, and I still dont know how to get a bed! I searched the wiki but could someone please give some kind of steps as to how I can get a bed? Thanks for the help (Im a noob at terraria because I just started, and making a bed in Minecraft is so simple lol) Also, what do I need to make a chest? Thanks.

One of the most important things to know is that the Guide-NPC is super useful for these situations! You can put materials in the slot he displays when you click "Crafting" while talking to him and he shows you what you can craft with it, what else you need and which crafting station you need.

Anyway, making a bed comes down to a simple question:
Do you have a Sawmill?
If not, you'll have to go find some Iron/Lead Ore, refine them into Iron/Lead Bars and make Chains to make one, first. Sawmills are where you make more complex things such as chests and beds out of wood.
A bed is made with silk and wood while standing next to a Sawmill. You get silk from collecting cobwebs and crafting them at a Loom, which is also crafted at a Sawmill.
Chests, on the other hand, are made from Iron/Lead Bars and wood, but I'd suggest emptying and picking up chests you find lying around instead to save Iron or Lead.

I hope this helped you get started! I actually think Terraria's crafting system is refreshingly simple, all you need is a correct crafting station.

To make a Bed you'll need a Workbench, a Furnace, an Anvil, a Sawmill, and a Loom as crafting stations.

Since you are very new, here are step by step instructions. Skip whichever parts you already have done.
  • Make a Workbench
  • Gather 10 pieces of wood
  • Craft a Workbench by hand (no crafting station needed)
  • Make a Furnace
  • Gather 20 stone, 5 wood, 1 gel
  • Craft 3 torches by hand
  • Craft a Furnace at a Workbench