Game Mechanics Change player name for the sake of trans people!

Lexi_Luther

Official Terrarian
I've been playing terraria since 2015 and since then I have come out as transgender, with this my name has gone from Zachary Luther to Lexi Luther... I seriously doubt this will gain any kind of traction but basically it kind of feels like my favorite game of all time is dead naming me which doesn't exactly feel great I'll tell you what. Yes I could make a new character and just drop all my old gear onto them but the problem with that is it unmaps everything! which makes sense new character means NEW character which is why I think the ability to change your name would be a really nice addition especially for people like me who no longer identify with their old name. I really hope this reaches someone who can help out the transgender community!

with love;
Lexi

trans flag.jpg

you should be able to do this with terrasavr.
It's actually really strange, some of my characters dont appear in documents -> my games -> terraria -> players I think it might have something to do with the age of my character? Idk I made them in 2015 so they old af

maybe they're tmodloader characters? that's a separate directory (My Games/Terraria/Modloader).
in any case, try searching your drive for .plr files.

Firstly, I agree that renaming a character should be available, at least at a Dresser.

That said, outside of Journey Mode Research, very little is actually tied to a character: Dump everything in a chest, gather up some Life Crystals and Mana Crystals (Maybe Life Fruit too), and you have all the same progression with a fresh name and appearance.

It's actually something of a balance issue, because some stuff is tied to character names. At least Angler quests per the wiki, and I'd guess that hardcore bans and a few similar things are too.