Blocks & Decoration New timers and the Deactivator

Snickerbobble

The Painter
I've done some testing with timers for an adventure map and have found them useful.. sometimes. We can only set things off in 1, 3, and 5 second intervals, but what if we want something for 2 seconds? 4 seconds?

The alternate ores could be used for some new timers. So we would have:

Copper: 5 seconds
Tin: 4 seconds
Silver: 3 seconds
Tungsten: 2 seconds
Gold: 1 second
Platinum: Deactivator (might need a new name as it has an active and inactive state, but it sounds cool, so yeah)

Deactivator is marked with a red X or 0. When it is activated, it will instantly send a signal to deactivate anything it is wired to, including anything that may have signaled it to deactivate. If anything it is wired to is already off, they won't activate. I'm no wire expert but I feel this could be useful in adventure maps. It would save more space than statue spawned mob stoppers, though statue spawned mobs would still have their use for delays and activating several things at once. (Any wire experts free to point out why this might be redundant or how it could be better)

These additions probably wouldn't effect the normal player much, but it could help out a lot for those who make fancy wired contraptions and adventure maps for YOU to play! :dryadsmile:

(Is this the right forum? They're blocks but.. Game Mechanics though... not sure.)

You've my support, though it may be harder to obtain all second timers because not every world has the ores,
However, There are enough other ways to obtain them

I can't help but feel like an easier solution would just be to make each tier of timers be craftable be either respective ore

i.e. 1 or 2 seconds Ag or Pt, 3 or 4 seconds Au or W, 5 (or 10?) seconds Cu or Sn

The deactivator sounds nice, but it won't work when two or more timers are linked with the same wire to it. Timers set one another off/on.

It'll probably work better to turn off light sources or some such.