Portfolio/Multi-Topic Lightning storm and hailstorm + new equipement

J's

Official Terrarian
Prelude

First of all, i will underline that : I'm new to the community, I'm new to the game and English is a second language for me.

If someone else has already posted the same topic or a similar one, I would gladly edit the post to link any previous post upon request.

And sorry for the lenght.

[Insert same/similar topic here]

Introduction

In my 60 or so hours of gameplay, I've noticed rain/snow but nothing more extreme like lightning and hail. I have noticed something similar in effect when I saw a fallen star hit a zombie at some point and found it cool to see the zombie explode. Extreme weather condition like lightning and hail could present similar threat to ennemies and player alike. I would suggest that they occur randomly whenever rain is in effect. A chance between 1/10 and 1/5 (applied after rain determination) strikes me as a good balance between rarity (being a sublayer of rain) and frequence.

Type of elemental hazard

Hail : This one is the simplest of the two as it could simply reuse the fallen star mechani, with the following modification : (1) sprite (could be a recolor of snowballs); (2) lower spawn point (at cloud level) & (3) greatly increased spawn rate. Maybe it could shatter glass?

Lightning : This is probably the trickiest one as it should obey to different rules then gravity. The movement of lightning could be partly random (enven changing course while moving) with chance modification or priority based on the proximity and quality of conductors (i.e. striking closer and/or more conductive object with preference). Depending on the power of each strike, some may not connect with the ground as they would essentialy dissipate into the air. I could do further research on the subject and submit rough equations on the subject to the dev team if they (and the community) show interest.

[Insert here other elemental hazard suggested by the community]