How do you organize yourself?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I just don't understand how people can become so organized in this game. To me, it seems hopeless. I'm afraid to start an organization system for fear that storing everything will take too long or that it will be so confusing that it's pointless. What do you do? Usually I just dump everything into a gigantic vault and hope for the best, but afterwards it takes forever to find things. I feel as though I'll get to the point where if I don't start getting my stuff together soon, It'll be too late already.

So, again, what do you do?

Organize in rows?
Organize with labels?
Organize with rooms?

EDIT:

A corollary to this question; How in the world do you organize yourself potion-making-wise?

Last edited:
I just started playing the PC version a few days ago. I love the fact that you can name your chests. I have them for ores, potions, fishing/bait, building material,junk, weapons... when your pointer goes over the chest it says the name of it. Easy Peasy... :)

I start to organize as soon as I get my first chest, which is usually prior to the construction of my base. My first chest is often the ore/bar/money/gem chest, and my second chest is a potion/potion material chest. Then, I commence to make a more intricate system that would eventually contain statue chest, weapon chest, accessory chest, et cetera. You must start this from the start, otherwise you will - as you mentioned - feel that it is hopeless.

Naming chests is extremely helpful, I can’t stress that enough. Also, using specific chest types is also a good way to categorize. In the end, it’s mostly based on you coming up with some sort of system.

This is how I do it

Incoming list of stuff:

Initially, I’ll have around 5. One for armor/weapons, one for blocks, one for accessories/rare drops/tools, one for plants and seeds, and one for mob drops.